Run Happee

Setback

Posted on: September 10, 2012

So, I accomplished a goal. I completed my first half marathon. And I did great. And I’ve been doing great lately. But sometimes things don’t always stay on the upside…

After the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, my feet were bothering me a bit. Especially my left foot. Of course, I just ran/walked 13.1 miles. They were bound to be a bit uncomfortable.

Now fast forward to Thursday, when I was contemplating going to the emergency room because my left foot hurt so bad when I walked. Called my podiatrist, they got me in first thing Friday morning.

Turns out I have a stress fracture in 2 places on my left foot. I’m in a walking boot for at least 3 weeks, possibly longer. I have to stay off my feet, sleep with my foot elevated, and who knows when I’ll be able to return back to running. I left the office in tears.

Needless to say, I did not run the Bay Days 8k on Sunday. And I won’t be running the Komen Race for the Cure next month.

I’m supposed to be training for my half marathon that’s in March. Luckily, I will have enough time to heal. But what to do until then? How to keep the weight off? In fact, how to lose the weight? I’ve already gained 2 lbs from last week’s inactivity and not being careful enough about what I was eating.

Everyone tells me to be patient. In fact, I’ve been told “welcome to the sport of patience”. Well, that’s fine. I can learn to be patient.

I can also be quite determined. I’m not a quitter. I’m not ready to sit back for 3 weeks or longer and do nothing. Let my training plan fall away. Gain back the weight that I’ve lost. Go back to square one. I’ve allowed myself to be upset for a few days. Fine. I’ve done my 3 days of depression. Now it’s time to get active, take charge of this issue, and find alternatives to running and walking for my training plan.

At the moment, I have no access to a pool. So swimming is out. I can’t afford to reinstate my gym membership. If I could, that would have been the first thing I would have done. I would have access to a pool and a stationary bike. But the funds aren’t there. And no, I cannot ask family members for help. So, I have to find another way.

I have posted on Facebook, reaching out to friends and family asking everyone if they have a bike I can borrow for the next few weeks. So far, no one does. I have posted on Freecycle looking for a bike. So far, nothing. I’ve posted on different communities asking if anyone knows of different workouts I could do. So far, just people who sympathize with me, wish me luck and a speedy recovery. But I’m determined.

I will not sit around doing nothing. I will figure out a way to keep working out, keep training and keep losing the weight. I won’t stop reading up on running just because it’s not something I’m doing anymore. I won’t let it get me down and depress me. I’ll use this time to do research. I’ll start focusing more on nutrition and what I put into my body.

But I definitely need support from my friends and family. Please, if anyone can think of anything to help, let me know.

 

2 Responses to "Setback"

Do you have a Wii? If you have one or could borrow one, do the Fit program. You can modify for your foot but it will kick your ass if you let it! Sorry to hear of this setback. Hang in there and I’m thinking of you. ~ Javagirl (Beautyreflected)

Hey! I do have a Wii, but I don’t have the WiiFit. I don’t think the library has Wii games to borrow either. I know you need certain equipment with the WiiFit, so it’s not something I’d be able to rent, either. I am almost healed up, though. I’m just about cleared for walking and light exercises and in another 2-3 weeks I’ll be cleared to start introducing running back into my training. I don’t want to push myself too fast or hard and get injured again or get hurt worse. I’ll be okay, I hope! Thanks for the suggestion, though!

Leave a Reply

Breath of Sunshine

...finally learning how to breathe

LiarsCheatersRUs

Liars and Cheaters

Tech Marketer Atl

All Things Tech and All Things Marketing

Life Coaching With Raion

Inspiration. Empowerment. Life

Kayla's SparkPeople.com Diet&Journal Blog

ALL ABOUT MY SPARKPEOPLE STUFF! =)

Sims 2 & 3

Just another WordPress.com site

Found Myself Running

My journey to the other side of ppd and beyond.

BookFeed

Feed Your Love of Books

handsofadreamer

My hands will become the tools of my trade

Kelly Cox Design

Inspired By Your Dream

