Run Happee

I finished!

Posted on: September 5, 2012

I’m a few days late but yes, I finished the Rock n Roll Half Marathon in Virginia Beach on Sunday!! My first half marathon! I still can’t believe it! I actually finished a half marathon. 13.1 miles! Amazing!

My finishing time was 3:34:26, with an average pace of 16:22. And that was WITH the long bathroom break (there was a super long line). I had expected to finish closer to 4 hours so I’m really happy with that time. Especially for it being my first half marathon. The first mile was about a 14 min mile. So without that bathroom break, I could have finished sooner!

The race started off great because I got to see my daughter Alana and her teammate with Team Hoyt, Ryan take off. That just made my day! Then during the race, I received a notification on my phone from Facebook from my friend Wendy who had posted on my page “you’re amazing in every way possible and don’t ever forget that. Love you!” and that just brought tears to my eyes and made me even more motivated to continue on. I swear, the amount of love and support I have gotten from people on Facebook and Livejournal and on my blog is wonderful.

I’m just so happy and so proud of myself. This was a huge goal and I accomplished it. And before I turned 30! I just feel amazing! Crossing that finish line was an incredible feeling I will never forget. I almost feel like I can do anything. It has made me feel so much better about myself. I am feeling positive and ready to take on the world!

I’ve gone from my first race to a half marathon in 9 months. And I started out at 220 lbs. I’m now 178. I still have a long way to go with my weight AND my running and life in general, but for a person who started the year out at getting sore just walking a mile to walking and running a half marathon and losing weight, that’s pretty awesome. I’m very proud of what I’ve accomplished.

To anyone who reads this and is surrounded by people who are negative and tell you you can’t do something, don’t listen to them. And don’t ever tell yourself that you can’t. You can change your life, you can make a goal and accomplish it. Whether it’s a small goal or a big goal, you can do whatever you set your mind to do. If the people around you are negative, surround yourself with different people. Or be your own support system.

I have an 8k this weekend in Downtown Hampton. My feet are still pretty sore, so we’ll see how I do with that. And after the 8k, it’s back to kicking butt on the Shamrock training!

2 Responses to "I finished!"

I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award. If you wish to accept, check out my post – the instructions are on my recent post! :) http://alysonontherun.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/spreading-the-sunshine/

Wow, thank you so much! It makes me happy enough to know people are even reading my blog. Getting an award from another blogger that says I’m inspiring is amazing! I will complete this this weekend!

Leave a Reply

Breath of Sunshine

...finally learning how to breathe

LiarsCheatersRUs

Liars and Cheaters

Tech Marketer Atl

All Things Tech and All Things Marketing

Life Coaching With Raion

Inspiration. Empowerment. Life

Kayla's SparkPeople.com Diet&Journal Blog

ALL ABOUT MY SPARKPEOPLE STUFF! =)

Sims 2 & 3

Just another WordPress.com site

Found Myself Running

My journey to the other side of ppd and beyond.

BookFeed

Feed Your Love of Books

handsofadreamer

My hands will become the tools of my trade

Kelly Cox Design

Inspired By Your Dream

