Run Happee

My 3rd race!

Posted on: August 5, 2012

Yesterday was the Coast Guard Day 5k in Yorktown, VA. It was my third race, my second 5k. The morning was actually kind of warm. My other two races were in cooler weather so not really used to running a race in the heat. And did it show!

I had a hard time in the beginning. That’s what really got me. And I was definitely upset with myself. I was probably the only person out there actually fussing at myself. I’m sure I looked ridiculous. My best friend Shaine just kept right with me, though, most of the way, even though she could have gone on and gotten a better time. She kept pushing me, telling me I could do it. I just don’t know what was wrong with me.

I know I was upset for two reasons, because of two certain people, which I will not name. People that aren’t supportive of this, of me, and really upset me the night before and the morning of.

But I ended up pushing through during the last half of the race and finishing 48:57. I could have done better. In fact, my last 5k time was 44:55. BUT I finished. And I wasn’t the last one to finish. Based on the practice runs…err, walks…the weeks before, I would have thought it’d have taken me an hour to finish. But I did better than I thought I would. I finished. Which should be all that matters, really. I didn’t quit. I didn’t give up, even though we did pass by the car and I so wanted to just go sit in the car and blast the a/c. But I kept going.

I have to give a big thank you Shaine for pushing me to keep going and compromising her own time just to do it. She’s an awesome friend and running partner. And a thanks goes out to a woman named Jennifer who we met along the way, who I talked with, who also motivated me.

That’s one thing about the running community. Everyone is so supportive of each other, so helpful, so understanding. Whether they’re a 6 minute miler or a 20 minute miler, everyone there encourages everyone else, no passing judgement, no making anyone feel bad for getting a slower time. It’s all pats on the back and “good job” no matter your size, no matter your speed. Whether you walk or run, everyone is on your side. And that’s what I love.

I can’t say that I don’t hope to do better in my next race. I’ll definitely try to prepare a little more. Be a little more relaxed and not worry so much about it the night before. I get so worked up and my nerves go crazy, I think that’s part of the problem. Like I’ve said before, I still can’t believe I’m doing this. I still can’t believe I’M out there, ME, running in a race. A year ago, if you would have told me I’d be on my 3rd race and training for a half marathon, I’d have told you you were out of your mind! But it’s happening. So, I better get used to it. And the people in my life better get used to it. Because there’s a lot more to come from me. This is just the beginning.

Tags:

2 Responses to "My 3rd race!"

Great job – on the race and sticking with the running!!

Thank you so much! I’m really trying!

Leave a Reply

Breath of Sunshine

...finally learning how to breathe

LiarsCheatersRUs

Liars and Cheaters

Tech Marketer Atl

All Things Tech and All Things Marketing

Life Coaching With Raion

Inspiration. Empowerment. Life

Kayla's SparkPeople.com Diet&Journal Blog

ALL ABOUT MY SPARKPEOPLE STUFF! =)

Sims 2 & 3

Just another WordPress.com site

Found Myself Running

My journey to the other side of ppd and beyond.

BookFeed

Feed Your Love of Books

handsofadreamer

My hands will become the tools of my trade

Kelly Cox Design

Inspired By Your Dream

