Run Happee

Reality check

Posted on: July 23, 2012

So, the kick in the butt, registering myself for another 5k that’s NOW in less than 2 weeks is just what I needed. I’ve worked out every single day, pushed myself. Actually, I’ve pushed myself to the point of frustration. I’m trying to make my body do things it’s just not ready to do.

Over the past few days, especially yesterday, I’ve been thinking, and I’ve come to the realization that yes, technically I AM a runner. Because everyone says, once you start running, you are a runner. It’s in me now. No going back. I have the desire. But am I a full on runner? No. Do I know exactly what I’m doing? Oh, definitely not. I have a lot of work to do. I sometimes mix a little running in there. But it’s mostly jogging and walking. But that’s okay. For me. For right now. Because that’s what my body is ready for. And I need to learn to accept that.

I shouldn’t be angry with myself. I shouldn’t be beating myself up. I should let my body go at it’s own pace. Do what it’s ready to do when it’s ready to do it. Yes, I need to push myself. But not too far. Because pushing myself too far WILL result in injury and sideline me. And then I’ll REALLY be mad at myself. And I’ll have every right to be. It will be all my fault.

So, I’ve decided that I’m not going to participate in the Crawlin’ Crab Half Marathon in October. I will probably do the 5k, but not the half marathon. I won’t be able to get prepared in time. And for my first half marathon, I WANT to be prepared. I want to be ready. I want my body to be ready. I want to go in knowing 100% that I can do it.

I also want my half marathon to be a special event. And with that being said, my first race ever was the Shamrock 8k in March of this year. Well, I’ve decided to keep the theme going and so, my first half marathon will be the Shamrock Half Marathon in March 2013. That’s right, I have less than 8 months to train for my first half marathon. That should be enough time to lose this weight, get in shape, and prepare myself for 13.1 miles. And no slacking off. I need to do this. I need to do this for me.

I hope I have the support of all of my friends and family and anyone reading this. I could really use it right about now.

Tags:

3 Responses to "Reality check"

I take issue with you using jogging as your terminology. I think it takes away from what you’re doing. I think so many of us spend so much time talking about how we’re not worthy for one reason or another (mostly self talk), and don’t stop to say, hey! I’m freaking doing it! If you’re doing the exertion rate that your body can handle and you are going slow it doesn’t mean you’re jogging. You’re RUNNING SLOW. Get that out of your mind. If you’re running your running. Jog is a bad word in my book. Just my .02

Thank you! I didn’t think of it that way but it really is a good way to think about it. I AM a runner! No more jogging!

I’ll do the half with you!!

Leave a Reply

Breath of Sunshine

...finally learning how to breathe

LiarsCheatersRUs

Liars and Cheaters

Tech Marketer Atl

All Things Tech and All Things Marketing

Life Coaching With Raion

Inspiration. Empowerment. Life

Kayla's SparkPeople.com Diet&Journal Blog

ALL ABOUT MY SPARKPEOPLE STUFF! =)

Sims 2 & 3

Just another WordPress.com site

Found Myself Running

My journey to the other side of ppd and beyond.

BookFeed

Feed Your Love of Books

handsofadreamer

My hands will become the tools of my trade

Kelly Cox Design

Inspired By Your Dream

