Run Happee

Road to success

Posted on: May 2, 2012

It’s amazing, the feeling you get when you cross the finish line of your first race.  The crowd cheering you on.  The sense of pride in just knowing that you simply accomplished something.  Knowing that when you were 220 pounds and having trouble getting out of bed everyday, much less exercising, you never would have even thought you’d cross any finish line.

Yes, I was, at one point 220 pounds.  For me, being 5’1, that’s a lot.  I know it was sometime 2 years ago.  I actually recorded on March 8, 2010 that I was 210 pounds, but never wanted to admit, even in private, that I was 220 pounds.  So I never recorded the specific date.

Trust me, I’m still a chunky little girl.  I still have a long way to go.  But in terms of trying, I’ve coming a long way.  I don’t have a hard time getting out of bed anymore.  I still have those days where my migraines give me problems so, yes, I do take naps.  I’m a little more determined these days, though.  Less inclined to give up.

My very first race was on March 17, 2012.  The Yuenling Shamrock 8k in Virginia Beach, VA.  I was so nervous.  I did train for it with my friend, Shaine, who you will probably hear about a lot in my posts.  She has pushed me and been there for me through all of this and I probably couldn’t have done as well as I have without her.  My first race I set a goal time for 1hr 45min.  I finished at 1hr 22min, beating my time!  It felt incredible!

I decided to do a 5k last month since there was a Groupon offer for it for $14 (these races DO cost money but they go to a good cause!) and on April 29, 2012, I participated in the Dig In Earth Day 5k in Newport News, VA.  I had set a goal time for myself for 45min, which I had never done before.  I finished at 44min 55sec, beating my time by just a few seconds!  And yes, I cheered and screamed and squealed across the finish line like a crazy person!  I was pretty shocked!  I felt good that day also because I had my own little entourage with me, cheering me on!

So, while I’ve been losing some weight and training for these races, I see other races popping up.  I am already signed up for the Rock N Roll Half Marathon Mini Marathon (a 5k) in September in Virginia Beach.  My goal is to finish 30-35min.

An 8k and two 5k’s…what’s next?  I’ve made a very big decision (for me, anyway).  The Crawlin Crab Half Marathon & 5k is October 7, 2012 in Hampton.  Could I do the 5k by then?  Not a problem.  But I asked myself, why not push it further?  So, I decided I’m going to sign up for the half marathon.  It’s a big thing!  5 months to train for it.  That’s a lot of work, but I know training for it will also help me with my weight loss and to get into shape.  And accomplishing that before my 30th birthday in November?  Best present I could ever give to myself.

I have a long way to go and a lot of work to do, but I’m determined and I’m motivated so I’m going to push myself as best as I can.  This blog is the story of what I hope to be my road to success.  And I need all the support I can get!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Breath of Sunshine

...finally learning how to breathe

LiarsCheatersRUs

Liars and Cheaters

Tech Marketer Atl

All Things Tech and All Things Marketing

Life Coaching With Raion

Inspiration. Empowerment. Life

Kayla's SparkPeople.com Diet&Journal Blog

ALL ABOUT MY SPARKPEOPLE STUFF! =)

Sims 2 & 3

Just another WordPress.com site

Found Myself Running

My journey to the other side of ppd and beyond.

BookFeed

Feed Your Love of Books

handsofadreamer

My hands will become the tools of my trade

Kelly Cox Design

Inspired By Your Dream

